General Skilled Migration/ SkillSelect

Changes to the general skilled migration scheme and the points test came in to force on 1st July 2012.

The following visas which were for applicants from outside of Australia are now closed to new applicants from 1st July 2012:

  • 175 – Skilled independent
  • 176 - Skilled nominated sponsored
  • 475 - Skilled regional sponsored

The following visas which were for applicants from inside Australia are now closed to new applicants from 1st January 2013:

  • 885 – skilled independent
  • 886 - Skilled nominated sponsored
  • 487 - Skilled regional sponsored

Instead, the new General skilled migration scheme has introduced 3 new visa subclasses which has removed the distinction of if the applicant is inside or outside of Australia.

  • NEW 189 – skilled independent
  • NEW 190 - Skilled nominated
  • NEW 489 – Skilled regional

Applicants for these new visas must now lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect.


An expression of Interest can be lodge online and will include:

  • Basic Personal Information
  • Nomination of a skilled occupation
  • Pass of the new points test (if required)
  • Positive Skills Assessment (if required)
  • Successful English Test (if required)

New points test

A new points test was introduced on 1st July 2012.

The new points test has lowered the pass mark to 60 for the new general skilled migration visas.

Please use our enquiry form if you would like one free online consultation with a registered migration agent about your visa, expression of interest or skills assessment today.